Working Mom of Three, History Buff, Writer, World of Warcraft Addict. . .My Comments on My Crazy Life.

It’s another one of those days when you look at the world rushing by you and you want it to slow down (if not stop completely).  Christmas is coming quickly and I’m not at all ready for it.  World of Warcraft–Cataclsym, will be out tomorrow, and I’m not sure if I will get time to play it at all this week.  I have a blog that I want to keep updated but can’t find the time–or the creative ideas that make people want to read it. 

Yesterday my baby sister sent me a picture of my niece walking and talking on her toy phone.  It seemed unreal to me that she’s walking and talking.  When I saw her last summer, she was sitting in an “excersaucer” jumping up and down and saying “Da-da-da!”  Only on the last day of our vacation did she finally yell (not say) “Mama!”  She wanted her Mommy and she wanted her now!  🙂  I was so thankful I got to see that moment because I live 500 miles away from my family and I get to be a part of too little of those “moments.”  Last year because of work I did not get to go home to see that sweet baby being born or having her first Christmas.  This year, I missed her first birthday party because I had to work the Friday after Thanksgiving.  I hate living so far away from my family but, I have to make a living.  So, we sacrifice.  It’s either work where we can find work or be in poverty, huh?

So, my sister sent me that picture and I couldn’t believe the baby was walking already!  Time marches on–too quickly for my tastes.  I look at my own babies and can’t believe they are so grown up, either.  My oldest will be 20 next week.  Let me say that again–TWENTY!  I have an adult son!  How can that be?  He absolutely hates it when I say this, but it seems like only yesterday that he weighed 6 lbs, 10 oz, and he would put his tiny apple head on my shoulder, his long legs against his chest, and cry if I put him down at any time.  Now he towers over me and comes out of his room to forage for food and go to school.  Occasionally I’ll get a hug and a, “So, ummm, did you see the latest patch notes for WoW?”  Most of the time he’s off in his own world with his friends and his artwork.  It won’t be much longer until he leaves the nest–and I’m not sure I’m ready for that. Don’t get me wrong.    It has to happen–I don’t want him to that 40 year old man living with his Momma.  I want him to have independence and his own life.  But, but, but. . . it’s just too soon.  He should still be my little babe in arms. 

One of my favorite lines from “Steel Magnolias:”  Time goes on–and it’s marching across your face.”  Yep, and your heart.  Every day, every second, that those children get older. . .  I’m getting older too.  (Another borrowed line, this one from a Stevie Nicks song, “Landslide.”)

Leave a Reply

