Working Mom of Three, History Buff, Writer, World of Warcraft Addict. . .My Comments on My Crazy Life.

It’s 5 am, and I’m awake.   I had a nightmare and couldn’t go back to sleep.   Oh, I’m usually awake at 5 am to get the “morning rush” going.  But, today the kids are at their Dad’s house, and I have no real reason to get up so early.  I’ve noticed that, as I get older, I’m needing less sleep.  Besides, it’s hard for me to go back to sleep after a nightmare, and now my brain is working in over-drive.

I miss my babies when they are gone.  I miss their affection, I miss the silly things they say, I miss the noise they make just being kids.  Last night I bought the Christmas Lights to decorate the house.  I am debating–decorate now or decorate when they come home next Monday?  Next week will be busy for two reasons–my daughter’s show chior program, and Cataclysm.  Hey, don’t laugh at me for planning my Christmas Decorating around a video game.  At least I plan on going to work every day next week–more than a lot of folks can say. 

My sons both play WoW, but my daughter only has a mild interest.  She made a blood elf and explored Eversong Woods, but that was all she wanted to do.  My little one, however, made a gnome warrior.  He’s 6, and been playing WoW for a year now.  He has leveled his gnome three ways:  exoploring, running battlegrounds, and sneaking into random dungeons.  He’s not allowed to run randoms because, well, he’s six.  He’s a good reader, but still not good enough to read and understand what people are saying to him.  That might be a blessing.  Isn’t six too young to learn how to read curse words?  LOL

He is afraid of dying in-game.  There’s been a few times where he was attacked by a mob that he was not able to handle alone.  It’s happened to all of us, but I’m sure most of us don’t disolve into tears over it.  I end up comforting him while either hubby or big brother does the corpse run for him, and then log him off the game until he calms down.  “Take a break, baby,” I tell him.  I can’t stand to see him get so upset over a computer game. 

He’s vicious in battlegrounds.  The only one he does is Warsong Gulch.  He loves to stalk “bad guys,” run out from behind a bush and hit them.  He’s smart enough to target players who are already injured and attempts to picks them off.  He’s funny as he says things like, “I’m gonna get you, sucker!”  and “Ooh, I owned you, ya big cow!”  Oddly enough, he doesn’t mind dying in battlegrounds (unlike me, who swears like a sailor when someone kills me because they bested me!).   He dies a lot. 

I probably will string at least some lights outside this week.  I think it will be a nice surprise for them when they come home.  Or, maybe their father will drive by this weekend and they will see them from the road.  I like that thought–beacons of multi-colored twinkling lights shining out for my kids to delight them. 

Yeah, it’s all about my kids.  That’s all this month is for me–a celebration of family, love, and home.  I just wish my babies were home.  I am selfish and I hate sharing them.  But, they have a good Daddy, and he loves them just as much as I do.  So, I’m up at 5 am, ready to get kids ready for school. . . and only hearing the silence.

Comments on: "Random Early Morning Thoughts" (1)

  1. Salazzar said:

    I happened upon your blog as I am an avid WOW blog reader. I noticed the mom thing, (I am a dad!) Then I read down and saw you quote NCDOT.
    I love coming across new blogs with people with similar backgrounds, and of course living in NC..LOL. I look forward to following your posts.

Leave a Reply

